Hey Puddin’

I wanted cake, well I wanted to bake a cake because my house is hot and I wanted it to smell like cake, but I lack necessary ingredients.
I do however have a mango and all the necessary ingredients for this:

Recently I took this cooking class with some friends from work. I like cooking classes generally, that said, this one was a little disappointing. The food was good, but it was a little more demonstration than hands on. Everything was partially prepared and the woman running the class seemed a little apprehensive about folks using knives. I mean seriously kids, I have some serious knife skills; I know this, because I tool a class. That last bit should have resulted in an eye rolling and maybe a snicker.

The food in the class was mostly good. I say mostly because a lot of it was prepared ahead of time. The one thing that stood out the most was a really simple rice pudding. I like rice pudding. This particular recipe was also vegan, which I am not, but I do occasionally like to clear out the animal proteins. And it has coconut, I mean COME ON! Coconut is freaking delicious.

So I took the recipe and then altered it a little, I found it a little sweet with the already sweet mango, so I adjusted accordingly. Personally I think it is delicious, even if you have to start your prep a day ahead of time.

Ingredients

  • 1 Cup Sweet Rice
  • 1 Can (13.5-14oz) Coconut Milk (light or regular)
  • 1/3 Cup of Sugar
  • 1 ¼ Cup of Water
  • 2 teaspoons fresh Lime Zest
  • 1 Mango

Directions

  • Using cheese cloth or a mesh strainer: rinse the rice in cold water. Then place it in a bowl and cover with cold water and set aside to soak overnight.
  • In a pot (or rice cooker if you must) on medium heat, cook the rice with 1 ¼ Cups of water until the rice is tender. This should take about 20 minutes.
  • Do not shake the coconut milk before opening. Open the can and skim about ½ of the fat off of the top and set aside in a bowl.
  • Pour the remaining liquid and fat in a saucepan and add sugar. On medium heat, stirring constantly, melt the sugar into the coconut milk.
  • Once the sugar is melted add the remaining fat and mix in until melted.
  • Mix the coconut milk and sugar mixture together with the rice in a bowl and set aside until warm (not hot) to the touch.
  • Zest your lime and mix most of it into the pudding.
  • Slice the mango avoiding the seed.
  • Serve ½ cup of pudding with mango, garnish with remaining lime zest.
  • This can be refrigerated and served warm or cold.
  • It is also delicious with other tropical fruits.

Hey Puddin’.

Leave a Reply

