the 15 minute rule

I am not one for New Year’s resolutions. Not the over inflated easily breakable ones many people make that is. Instead I make simple and often mildly amusing resolutions.

One year my new year’s resolution was to honk more. As an east coast transplant it was plain to see that people just do not honk often in Seattle. I have seen people sit through multiple green lights while the car in front of them is busily chatting on their phone, applying make-up or otherwise lost in something other than driving.

Apparently you can even get a ticket for honking. So one year I decided I was going to resume my old ways and not hold back on honking. Seriously, if I am honking because someone is not paying attention, how is that wrong?

Anyway. This year my New Year’s resolution is simple. 15 minutes, 4 days a week. That’s only an hour. For 15 minutes when I get home from work, I am required to clean, or tidy. If a task takes longer than 15 minutes, I have to finish it. So far I’ve done good.

2 thoughts on “the 15 minute rule

  1. That is such a good idea. Last year I my resolution was no piles. Along the tidying line, have you seen the fly lady? She cracks me up. http://www.flylady.net/pages/begin_babysteps.asp
    Her advice for day 1 of baby steps toward a sane environment is to shine your sink. I tried it and remembered Mrs. Damone teaching us to clean our sinks after we were done. BTW, I have never moved beyond baby step 1.

Leave a Reply

