Addiction

My name is Felicity and I am addicted to fabric.

Given the size of my stash it should almost have a name. I love fabric. Primarily I buy cottons for quilts. I bought some new fabric today.

Fabric shopping is probably what nurtured the early stages of my friendship with Kelli.

We worked together and discovered that we were both quilters. Or at least we both had made a quilt or two in our lives and found that we really enjoyed it. So at lunch we would head out to JoAnn‘s and shop for fabrics.

When we started Kelli was purchasing quarters and fat quarters, a term I had never heard before, mostly because I still do not fully understand the value unless it is kitten face fabric. I convinced her that purchasing by the yard was far more advantageous. While I am not entirely sure that was the best advice, I to this day still purchase by the yard, and likely will until the day when purchasing by the bolt is manageable.

So now I have what is commonly referred to as a stash. It is all carefully folded and piled on shelves in the second bedroom. Sometimes I just stand in there and find inspiration.

When I pick fabric I have quilts in mind, even if they aren’t quilts that will ever actually be made, there is the people quilt, the green quilt, the brown quilt, the red and black quilt and so on. I prefer print that seem classic to me and basic. No crazy depth or batik.

Today I added to my stash, some light green fabrics that on a cold day like today seem so springy and happy. I was shopping for some 90″ muslin for the back of a quilt I just finished piecing, only to discover that the stores near me do not have what I need. Tomorrow I will head out for batting, which I also had lead myself to believe I had more than I did of and some muslin.

 

 

Leave a Reply

